New The Quireboys Studio Album To Be Released In Late March

The Quireboys’ Latest Studio Album To Hit Stores In Late March

February 16, 2015

The Quireboys are gearing up for the release of their ninth studio album on March 30th, an ambitious 4CD deluxed edition package called ‘St Cecilia And The Gypsy Soul’.

Locked away for a week in the Swedish outpost of Klippan, the Quireboys couldn’t have imagined what would emerge from the most intensive recording process of their careers.

“It was the bleakest place I’ve ever seen,” said guitarist Paul Guerin, following his stay in the town whose name translates as Cliff’s Edge. “I felt like I was in the Big Brother house,” added frontman Spike. “I never stepped out of the studio — not once. We could have gone stir crazy but we came out of there with a record we never knew was possible.”

Inspired by the success of 2009’s critically acclaimed acoustic album ‘Halfpenny Dancer’, the band entered Lemon Studios fully intending to repeat that winning formula. However, an Aladdin’s Cave of intriguing instruments and eerie samples inspired the Quireboys to push the boundaries and shift the focus.

“The plan was always to record some new acoustic songs and rework some originals,” says Spike. “But the plan changed. There was something about that place — the vibe got better and better and we just went with the flow.”

Spike, Paul Guerin, Guy Griffin (guitar) and Keith Weir (keyboards) flew home with 10 new songs and a brand new sound. Fans can hear the fruits of the Quireboys’ labours this spring when ‘St Cecilia And The Gypsy Soul’ is released as part of a luxurious 4CD set — featuring buried treasure and bonus cuts.

The new album, produced by The Quireboys and Martin Ekelund, will be packaged alongside ‘Halfpenny Dancer’ (finally available again) and two discs covering the previously unreleased 2010 Halfpenny Dancer live show featuring fiddles, pedal steel, mandolin, banjo and more!

“This side of the band needs to heard,” added Spike. “And we’ll be taking the new music out on the road with our most intimate tour yet.”

The new album’s title might hark back to the Quireboys’ rootsy legacy, but the quality of its music reaffirms a desire to break new ground and grow their sound. The 30th anniversary celebrations might be over, but the party’s still in full swing.

‘St Cecilia And The Gypsy Soul’ will be released worldwide via Off Yer Rocka on March 30th but will be preceded by the ‘Gracie B’ EP which features four bonus tracks and a lyric video on March 16th.

‘St Cecilia And The Gypsy Soul’ track listing:
01. Gracie B
02. Land Of My Father
03. St Cecilia
04. The Promise
05. Can’t Hide It Anymore
06. Out Of Your Mind
07. The Hurting Kind
08. Adaline
09. The Best Are Not Forgotten
10. Why Did It Take So Long

Disc 2: ‘Halfpenny Dancer’ track listing:
01. There She Goes Again
02. Devil Of A Man
03. Love To Love
04. Mona Lisa Smiled
05. I Can’t Stop Loving You
06. Roses & Rings
07. Baby It’s You
08. Hello
09. Pretty Girls
10. He’ll Have To Go
11. Long Time Comin’
12. Hates To Please
13. King Of New York

Disc 3: ‘Halfpenny Live (Part I)’ track listing:

01. There She Goes Again
02. Devil Of A Man
03. Mona Lisa Smiled
04. Love To Love
05. Roses & Rings
06. Pretty Girls
07. Can’t Stop Loving You
08. One For The Road
09. Hello

Disc 4: ‘Halfpenny Live (Part II)’ track listing:
01. Hates To Please
02. Long Time Comin’
03. Have A Drink With Me
04. Late Night Saturday call
05. Misled
06. I Love This Dirty Town
07. 7 O’clock
08. I Don’t Love You Anymore

Courtesy of

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *